The Three Faces

The steps sounded loudly on my ears. It just few steps from the door. A big black shadow was approaching me with its dead skin finger pointing out to me. I could feel its breath through the air. And it talked with high sound voice. I literally could feel my body shaken and my sweat came out of nowhere. I know one thing, fear was consuming me. As I moved to the corner of my bed, it kept talking. I remembered it clearly.

“What have you done to us?”

“Have you never considered your actions toward us?”

“Us? What is it talking about? Isn’t it only one?” I responded in my mind

” Of course it is “us”. You think we are just one, don’t you?”

I was shocked. It could read my mind! Oh how screwed I am..

“You never consider us seriously. You know that you are gonna die one day. You keep forgetting important things”

“You have walked with me until now. I have walked with everybody since the beginning. I see everything. Destruction, wars, plague, death, peace, happines, everything.”

“And I see along the line that you and your kin never learn. Now I’m talking to you to make things clear”

“I’have seen your journey. I’m seeing your journey an I will see your journey. Following your steps until all of these over. You can’t escape me. For I live inside your thoughts. I’m everything you choose. I’m you. But you’re not me”

“You only got one. Use it wisely. Choose the best actions , decisions to spend it. Because you won’t get it back. You won’t Get me back”

It stopped talking. I was really confusing about everything it said. And only one thing that I can ask.

“W-wwho are you… Sir? And w-wwwhy are you tell-lll-ing me this?”

I could see its face when he answered

“I am time. We are time”

It suddenly opened its dark hood, and there it was, one head with three faces. The right one looks like an old man. The middle one doesn’t have any physical form. It keeps changing. And the last one was using a mask. Nothing can be seen from it.

“We will come again. And when we come , I hope you’ve changed. You will be better”

And then it disappeared into thin air. Leaving me and a silent dark room. I was shaking and filled with sweat.

And I woke up feeling my heart beating so fast and my body full of sweat. I was just dreaming. The weirdest dream of my life.

-Lalu Zam-

Leave a comment